People who drink and drive in Utah risk being charged two violations: driving while influence and driving while over the limit―meaning with a BAC of more than 0.05%.
Despite the fact that they sound similar, these are two different charges intended to ensure intoxicated drivers get a DUI (driving while under the influence) conviction if their driving was just impeded by drugs or alcohol―whether or not a concoction test demonstrated their BAC was over as far as possible. Utah has by far, the toughest DUI laws in the entire United States. For this reason, you need to take care that you don’t get charged. If you made a mistake or if you have been unlawfully charged with DUI in Utah, call us right away (801) 676-5506. We can help.
A first DUI conviction in Utah brings about administrative (license suspension) and criminal (imprison time and fines) punishments. The timeframe amid which a prior DUI considers an “earlier offense” is 10 years. If you don’t contest your driver license being suspended with the DMV within ten (1) days; then, the DMV will automatically revoke your driver’s license. This can be a huge hardship. If you drive a car anyway, you risk being charged with driving on a revoked license, which will hurt you even more.
DUI Penalties in Utah
With a charge for DUI, you will face two different sorts of penalties. The vast majority know they should manage criminal penalties by the justice courts or district courts in Utah, you will likewise face unrelated civil punishments. This punishment, known as “Per-se” or Administrative punishment, are taken care of by the Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division (also called DMV). These common penalties are particular and notwithstanding any criminal penalties
Administrative Per-Se Penalties
The punishments by the Department of Public Safety become possibly the most important factor even before you are convicted a DUI or liquor offense. If you get are charged with a DUI, your license is promptly seized by the arresting officer and replaced with a letter that you get in the mail that will expire in 29 days if you don’t fight and win the case with the DMV. This is known as a Per-se arrest. If you don’t present a Hearing Request Form then on the 30th day your permit will be suspended by the Driver License Division.
To what extent your license is suspended will rely upon your age, a number of earlier arrests and your blood alcohol content (BAC) or chemical test results. For driver’s under 21 years of age, your license will be suspended in light of the “Not-a-Drop” law. This law makes it unlawful for a driver under 21 years of age to have ANY quantifiable measure of liquor in their blood.
The Administrative penalties for a DUI arrest are:
21 years old or over
1st offense Per-Se arrest: 120 days
2nd offense Per-Se arrest: 2 years
19 or 20 years old
1st offense Not-a-Drop arrest: 6 months.
1st offense Per-Se arrest: 6 months.
Under 19 years old
1st offense Not-a-Drop arrest: 1 year.
1st offense Per-Se arrest: 2 years.
Everyone messes up in live. If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Utah, please give our office a call for your free consultation (801) 676-5506. We want to help you stay out of jail!
8833 S. Redwood Road, Suite C
West Jordan, Utah
84088 United States
Telephone: (801) 676-5506
Additional Utah DUI Resources
What Can Someone Expect After Getting Out of Jail
What are the biggest Mistakes People Make After a DUI Arrest?
How Does a Prior Arrest or Conviction Impact a Criminal Case?
Will You Lose Your Driver’s License if you are charged with a DUI?