Polygamy is relatively common in the state of Utah in comparison to other states. While this offense is not frequently prosecuted between consenting adults, it is still a serious offense with major consequences.
If you are being charged with polygamy, you need an attorney to help determine your next move. A skilled attorney can navigate relevant case law and work to maintain your innocence and reputation.
Polygamy Information Center
- Utah Polygamy Law
- Polygamy Conviction Sentencing
- Defenses against Polygamy
Utah Polygamy Law
Utah Code §76-7-101: Polygamy (bigamy) occurs when, knowing he or she has a spouse or that the other person has a spouse, an individual purports to marry another person or cohabits with another person.
Polygamy Conviction Sentencing
As a third-degree felony, polygamy carries a punishment of up to five years in prison and $5,000 in fines.
Defenses against Polygamy
A polygamy conviction requires a knowledge element by the accused. A defendant must knowingly take another spouse while the defendant is currently married to another person. One way to fight this charge would be to show that the defendant reasonably believed he or she was legally eligible to remarry.
Reckless endangerment is typically associated with child victims; however, this may apply to adult victims as well. It is considered a violent crime even if direct physical harm is not present.
With the lack of an intent requirement, reckless endangerment charges may accompany those with no criminal intent to harm another. Incidents of hazing, pranks, or similar unintentional acts can result in reckless endangerment charges.
If you find yourself facing reckless endangerment charges, you need a skilled lawyer to work in your defense. An experienced lawyer can look at the facts of your case, and determine the proper defense for you.
Reckless Endangerment Information Center
- What is reckless endangerment?
- What are the penalties related to reckless endangerments?
- What are some examples of reckless endangerment?
What is reckless endangerment?
Utah code §76-5-112 finds reckless endangerment when an actor recklessly engages in conduct which creates a substantial risk of death or serious bodily injury to another.
What are the penalties related to reckless endangerment?
Reckless endangerment is a high-level Class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of one year in jail and/or a combination of up to $2,500 in fines.
What are some examples of reckless endangerment?
Reckless endangerment can occur in the most unexpected ways. Since no criminal intent or actual harm is required, in some situations, this offense can occur for seemingly harmless acts.
Recklessly discharging a firearm in a manner which endangers another individual can result in a reckless endangerment charge. Similarly, recklessly shooting firearms, or throwing objects at moving vehicles can also result in a reckless endangerment charge.
One of the most common types of reckless endangerment charges stem from reckless driving. This means driving with any type of willful or wanton disregard for the safety of people or property or committing a series of moving traffic violations in a short distance.
Free Consultation with Polygamy Lawyer
If you need help with polygamy law, call Ascent Law for your free consultation (801) 676-5506. We want to help you.
8833 S. Redwood Road, Suite C
West Jordan, Utah
84088 United States
Telephone: (801) 676-5506
Utah Law Resources
What Can Someone Expect After Getting Out of Jail
How Does a Prior Arrest or Conviction Impact a Criminal Case?
Attorneys for DUI Defense in Utah