The statute of limitations was created in order to create fairness for both the plaintiff and the defendant. In this post, we outline just a few of them. Keep in mind that these change from time to time so you’ll want to call us to discuss your specific situation rather than rely solely on this post as it is not legal advice. Every state has its own statute of limitations for filing civil actions against a person or a business. It doesn’t matter if it’s a health issue and you want to file against a doctor or a hospital for medical malpractice or have caused injury to another person, each situation has a set amount of time for the statute of limitations.
These types of laws are intended to ensure that not only the integrity of evidence or witness testimony is processed properly, but this also means a person or even a business cannot hold the lawsuit over someone else’s head, which could in turn be used for blackmail.
If you are unsure of the statute of limitations in Utah, there is a small list below, but in order to really be sure about your specific situation it’s in your best interest to hire a lawyer. These are only 3 examples out of 25+ which is why it’s beneficial to do your own research, but also rely on a lawyer for answers and information as well.
Wrongful Death: Cases for the wrongful death of a family member must be carried forward within 2 years – usually this type of limitations happens when a surviving family member is seeking compensation for a loved one. Or because the person that passed away was the income maker of the household.
Medical Malpractice: 2 years after discovery, but not more than 4 years from the date of the act, neglect, mistreatment, or occurrence.
Slip and Fall: According to the Utah statute of limitations, when it comes to a slip and fall incident, you have approximately 4 years to make a claim if you were injured. On the other hand, if you had a slip and fall, but were not injured but had personal property damaged due to the dangerous property conditions, you have 3 years for the statute of limitations.
If you think you do have a case, it’s important to seek legal guidance now, rather than later before your time is up. Once your time is up and the statute of limitations has expired, unfortunately that’s it. Once the claim is dismissed in a court of law, that’s it, that’s the end of the claim and the lawsuit and you will not be able to bring it to court again.
If you think that you have a case and you would like to file your claim but you aren’t sure if the statute of limitations has passed yet or you aren’t sure about the statute of limitations in your state, it’s in your best interest to hire a civil litigation lawyer in Utah.
State laws are always being changed and revised by lawmakers of that specific state so if you knew about a specific statute of limitations from 10 years ago for a specific situation, chances are it might not even be a law anymore, which is why it’s beneficial on your end to hire someone who does know all the ins and outs of the law and the legal system for Utah.
Free Initial Consultation with Lawyer
It’s not a matter of if, it’s a matter of when. Legal problems come to everyone. Whether it’s your son who gets in a car wreck, your uncle who loses his job and needs to file for bankruptcy, your sister’s brother who’s getting divorced, or a grandparent that passes away without a will -all of us have legal issues and questions that arise. So when you have a law question, call Ascent Law for your free consultation (801) 676-5506. We want to help you!
8833 S. Redwood Road, Suite C
West Jordan, Utah
84088 United States
Telephone: (801) 676-5506
Contracts and the Roles They Play in Business
Fundamental Documents in a Divorce Case
Is a Foreclosure Better or a Short Sale?